Galileo Open Air Cinema 2017

Galileo Open Air Cinema 2017

Relive your favourite movie moments under the stars in some of the Cape’s most picturesque settings.

From November 2016 to April 2017, the Galileo Open-Air Cinemas around Cape Town will be screening a series of silver-screen classics as well as some millennium favourites. The big news is that some brand-new outdoor screening venues have been introduced in and around Cape Town.

What’s Showing in February 2017
What’s Showing in March 2017
What’s Showing in April 2017

Galileo family Sundays

Galileo have slotted in three kiddie-friendly movie screenings so that the whole family can enjoy a Sunday evening during the April school holidays. With a variety of food (kiddie sizes included), drinks and snacks on offer from various vendors, all you have to do is pick your spot on the Kelvin Grove country club lawn when the gates open at 4pm.

Family Sunday screenings are:

  • 2 April The Lego Movie
  • 9 April Ice Age
  • 16 April The NeverEnding Story

Movies screenings will be hosted at the following venues:

Food and beverages are on sale at all venues, and chairs and blankets are available for hire. But, if you prefer, you can bring your own picnic basket. (Please note: Hillcrest Quarry does not permit BYOB.)

February 2017 Movie Schedule

Date Movie Age Restriction Venue Time
Wednesday 01 February Reality Bites PG-13 Kirstenbosch 8.15pm Book Here
Thursday 02 February The Armstrong Lie R V&A Waterfront 8.15pm Book Here
Friday 03 February Pretty Woman R Castle of Good Hope 8.15pm Book Here
Saturday 04 February Interstellar PG-13 Rustenberg Wine Estate 8.15pm Book Here
Tuesday 07 February The Vow PG-13 Hillcrest Quarry 8pm Book Here
Wednesday 08 February Bridget Jones’ Diary R Kirstenbosch 8pm Book Here
Thursday 09 February 10 Things I Hate About You PG-13 V&A Waterfront 8pm Book Here
Friday 10 February The Notebook PG-13 Central Park, Century City 8pm Book Here
Tuesday 14 February When Harry Met Sally R Nooitgedacht Wine Estate 8pm Book Here
Wednesday 15 February Fifty Shades of Grey R Kirstenbosch 8pm Book Here
Thursday 16 February Valkyrie PG-13 V&A Waterfront 8pm Book Here
Friday 17 February Ferris Bueller’s Day Off PG-13 Fedisa Rooftop 8pm Book Here
Saturday 18 February He’s Just Not That Into You PG-13 Allee Bleue Wine Estate 8pm Book Here
Tuesday 21 February The Ring PG-13 Hillcrest Quarry 8pm Book Here
Wednesday 22 February Winter’s Tale PG-13 Kirstenbosch 8pm Book Here
Thursday 23 February Office Space R V&A Waterfront 8pm Book Here
Friday 24 February Jurassic Park PG-13 Meerendal Wine Estate 8pm Book Here
Tuesday 28 February How to Lose A Guy in 10 Days PG-13 Hillcrest Quarry 7.45pm Book Here

March 2017 Movie Schedule

Date Movie Age Restriction Venue Time
Wednesday 01 March Blue Crush PG Kirstenbosch 7.45pm Book Here
Thursday 02 March The Wizard of Oz PG V&A Waterfront 7.45pm Book Here
Friday 03 March The Shawshank Redemption R Castle of Good Hope 7.45pm Book Here
Saturday 04 March The Grand Budapest Hotel R Rhebokskloof Wine Estate 7.45pm Book Here
Tuesday 07 March The Boat That Rocked R Hillcrest Quarry 7.45pm Book Here
Wednesday 08 March Step Brothers R Kirstenbosch 7.45pm Book Here
Thursday 09 March Gone Girl R V&A Waterfront 7.45pm Book Here
Friday 10 March The Dark Knight PG-13 Central Park, Century City 7.45pm Book Here
Tuesday 14 March The Theory of Everything PG-13 Hillcrest Quarry 7.45pm Book Here
Wednesday 15 March Grease PG-13 Kirstenbosch 7.45pm Book Here
Thursday 16 March Frida R V&A Waterfront 7.45pm Book Here
Friday 17 March The Wolf of Wall Street R Fedisa Rooftop 7.45pm Book Here
Saturday 18 March Dirty Dancing PG-13 Warwick Wine Estate 7.45pm Book Here
Tuesday 21 March Fight Club R Hillcrest Quarry 7.45pm Book Here
Wednesday 22 March The Omen R Kirstenbosch 7.45pm Book Here
Thursday 23 March The Sound of Music G V&A Waterfront 7.45pm Book Here
Friday 24 March The Hangover R Meerendal Wine Estate 7.45pm Book Here
Tuesday 28 March Harry Potter And The Chamber of Secrets PG Hillcrest Quarry 7.45pm Book Here
Wednesday 29 March Trails in Motion: MTB Film Festival Kirstenbosch 7.45pm Book Here
Thursday 30 March Star Wars: The Force Awakens PG-13 V&A Waterfront 7.45pm Book Here
Friday 31 March 300 R Noordhoek Common 7.45pm Book Here

April 2017 Movie Schedule

Date Movie Age Restriction Venue Time
Saturday 01 April Life of Pi PG Anthonij Rupert Wine Estate 7.45pm Book Here
Sunday 02 April The Lego Movie PG Kelvin Grove 7.45pm Book Here
Tuesday 04 April E.T. PG Hillcrest Quarry 7.45pm Book Here
Wednesday 05 April Inside Out PG Kirstenbosch 7.45pm Book Here
Thursday 06 April The Pursuit Of Happyness PG-13 V&A Waterfront 7.45pm Book Here
Friday 07 April Maleficent PG Castle of Good Hope 7.45pm Book Here
Sunday 09 April Ice Age PG Kelvin Grove 7.45pm Book Here
Tuesday 11 April He’s Just Not That Into You PG-13 Hillcrest Quarry 7.30pm Book Here
Wednesday 12 April Back to the Future Part II PG Kirstenbosch 7.30pm Book Here
Thursday 13 April Breakfast at Tiffany’s NR V&A Waterfront 7.30pm Book Here
Friday 14 April Vacation R Central Park, Century City 7.30pm Book Here
Saturday 15 April Love Actually R Vergenoegd Wine Estate 7.30pm Book Here
Sunday 16 April The NeverEnding Story PG Kelvin Grove 7.30pm Book Here
Tuesday 18 April Mamma Mia! PG-13 Hillcrest Quarry 7.30pm Book Here
Wednesday 19 April Earthlings PG-13 Kirstenbosch 7.30pm Book Here
Thursday 20 April Her R V&A Waterfront 7.30pm Book Here
Friday 21 April The Hunger Games PG-13 Fedisa Rooftop 7.30pm Book Here
Tuesday 25 April Pitch Perfect PG-13 Hillcrest Quarry 7.30pm Book Here
Wednesday 26 April Into The Wild R Kirstenbosch 7.30pm Book Here
Thursday 27 April American Sniper R V&A Waterfront 7.30pm Book Here
Friday 28 April Titanic PG-13 Meerendal Wine Estate 7.30pm Book Here
Saturday 29 April Pride & Prejudice PG Knorhoek Wine Estate 7.30pm Book Here

Want to know what movies are showing in the coming months?  Subscribe to our newsletter, and we’ll keep you informed.

Date

Tuesday – Friday, Occasional Saturdays & Sundays

Time

Gates open at 6pm; movies start between 7.30 and 8pm (after sunset)

Contact

071 471 8728 (available until 8pm on show days)
hello@thegalileo.co.za

Cost

Buy tickets online or at the venue.
R90 (ticket, if purchased at the venue)
R79 – R159 (ticket, if purchased online)
R10 (blanket)
R20 (chair)

Disclaimer:

The Inside Guide has made every effort to ensure that the information in this post was correct at the time of publication. However, we do not assume any liability caused by errors, such as price, cost, time, and location.

Time of publication: 07 February 2017

2 Responses to “Galileo Open Air Cinema 2017”

  1. Nikki

    When are you guys coming to Lorensford or Blaauwklippen jn 2017?

    Reply
  2. Leizil

    Good day

    I would like to know your dates in December. As we came to Cape Town in 2015 from the end of December to early Jan and wanted to see a movie but you were closed.
    Planning to come to Cape Town in December/Jan this year and would love to spend a night under the stars

    Reply

Add new comment