Galileo Open Air Cinema 2019/20: Movies by Moonlight

Galileo Open Air Cinema 2019/20: Movies by Moonlight

Relive your favourite movie moments under the stars in some of the Cape’s most picturesque settings.

Cape Town is bursting with fun and fabulous things to do, especially when the weather plays along. How does watching a flick under a starry sky sound? If the thought appeals, then check out Galileo Open Air Cinema’s 2019/20 lineup of silverscreen classics (and some millennium favourites) that will be screened at various scenic venues in and around Cape Town from 16 October 2019 until 25 April 2020.

Blankets and backrests are available for hire, and there are vendors selling food and beverages at the location (you’re also welcome to bring your own picnic basket). There’s also a special romantic package for couples, where a reserved area with blankets, pillows and Frey chocolates are provided.

Get there before the movie starts, so you can enjoy the live music and festive atmosphere (and reserve your spot on the lawn).

Check out the movie lineup and venues below, and be sure to subscribe to our newsletter for updates.

Cost
R109 (standard)
R117 (includes blanket)
R125 (includes backrest)
R130 (includes blanket and backrest)
R195 (VIP, includes blanket, backrest, premium reserved seating, popcorn, coke, and Frey chocolate)
R360 (couple, includes mattress at front row, two blankets, two pillows, and Frey chocolate box)

Please note

  • Tickets are limited, so book yours as soon as possible. If a show is sold out, no tickets will be available at the gate.
  • In the event of bad weather, screenings will either be cancelled, or moved to Kirstenbosch Gardens, depending on the circumstances. Registered Webtickets account holders will receive an email and SMS informing them of the change on the day of the event. They will then have the option of a full refund, or choosing another movie on another date (please note that no exchanges or refunds will be given after seven days from the cancellation date).
  • Guests are not permitted to bring their own chairs or backrests. No alcohol may be brought onto the premises.

December 2019

Date Movie Venue Book
Wednesday, 4 Dec The Holiday Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 5 Dec Love Actually Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 6 Dec A Good Year  Steenberg Book Now
Saturday, 7 Dec Notting Hill  Nederberg Book Now
Sunday, 8 Dec How To Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World Kelvin Grove Book Now
Wed, 11 Dec The Secret Life of Pets Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 12 Dec Confessions of a Shopaholic  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 13 Dec  Avengers: Endgame  Meerendal Book Now
Saturday, 14 Dec  Mamma Mia!  Blaauwklippen Book Now
Sunday, 15 Dec  Ferdinand  Kelvin Grove Book Now
Wednesday, 18 Dec Spud  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 19 Dec Finding Dory  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 20 Dec E.T. The Extra Terrestrial  Central Park Book Now
Saturday, 21 Dec Love Actually  Simonsvlei Book Now
Sunday, 22 Dec Peter Rabbit  Various Wine Estates Book Now
Wednesday, 25 Dec  Christmas Special Screening: How The Grinch Stole Christmas Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 26 Dec  Home Alone 2: Alone in New York  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 27 Dec  Aquaman  Battery Park Book Now
Saturday, 28 Dec  Bohemian Rhapsody Boschendal Book Now
Sunday, 29 Dec  Sing  Kelvin Grove Book Now

January 2020

Date Movie Venue Book
Wednesday, 1 Jan  What To Expect When You’re Expecting  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 2 Jan  The Addams Family  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 3 Jan  Mrs. Doubtfire  Steenberg Book Now
Saturday, 4 Jan  The Jungle Book  Nelson Wine Estate Book Now
Wednesday, 8 Jan  Mary Poppins Returns  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 9 Jan  The Princess Bride  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 10 Jan  La La Land  Meerendal Book Now
Saturday, 11 Jan  Grease  Franshhoek Cellar Book Now
Wednesday, 15 Jan  Coyote Ugly  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 16 Jan  Green Book  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 17 Jan  Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again Central Park Book Now
Saturday, 18 Jan  The Proposal  Stellenbosch Vineyards Book Now
Wednesday, 22 Jan  The Upside  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 23 Jan  Samsara  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 24 Jan  Yesterday  Battery Park Book Now
Saturday, 25 Jan  The Hundred Foot Journey  Rheboskloof Book Now
Wednesday, 29 Jan  Bollywood: Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham… Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 30 Jan  The Sixth Sense  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 31 Jan  Dirty Dancing  Steenberg Book Now

February 2020

Date Movie Venue Book
Saturday, 1 Feb  Driving Miss Daisy  La Paris Estate Book Now
Wednesday, 5 Feb  Magic Mike Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 6 Feb  Instant Family  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 7 Feb The Rocky Horror Picture Show  Meerendal Book Now
Saturday, 8 Feb  Forest Gump  Vergenoed Book Now
Wednesday, 12 Feb  Dear John  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 13 Feb  High Fidelity  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 14 Feb  Valentines Day Special Screening: About Time  Nooitgedacht Book Now
Saturday, 15 Feb  The Notebook  Lourensford Book Now
Wednesday, 19 Feb  The Big Sick  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 20 Feb  Cool Runnings  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 21 Feb  Me Before You  Battery Park Book Now
Saturday, 22 Feb  The Sound of Music  Vredenheim Book Now
Wednesday, 26 Feb  Letters to Juliet  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 27 Feb  American Pie  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 28 Feb  Father of The Bride  Steenberg Book Now
Saturday, 29 Feb  Saturday Night Fever  Under Oaks Book Now

March 2020

Date Movie Venue Book
Wednesday, 4 March  Mystic Pizza Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 5 March  Amélie Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 6 March  Bohemian Rhapsody  Meerendal Book Now
Saturday, 7 March  Moulin Rouge  Leopard’s Leap Book Now
Wednesday, 11 March  Juno Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 12 March  Reel Rock 14 Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 13 March  A Dog’s Journey  Central Park Book Now
Saturday, 14 March  The Vow  Blaauwklippen Book Now
Wednesday, 18 March  Braveheart  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 19 March  I Feel Pretty  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 20 March  The Greatest Showman Battery Park Book Now
Saturday, 21 March  Rocketman  Plaisir De Merle Book Now
Wednesday, 25 March  The Wizard of Oz  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 26 March  Trolls Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 27 March  Moana  Steenberg Book Now
Saturday, 28 March  Beauty and The Beast (2017) Simonsvlei Book Now

April 2020

Date Movie Venue Book
Wednesday, 1 April  Cast Away Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 2 April  Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom  De Meye Book Now
Friday, 3 April  Dirty Dancing Meerendal Book Now
Saturday, 4 April  La La Land  Nederburg Book Now
Wednesday, 8 April  Casablanca  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 9 April  The Breakfast Club  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 10 April  Grease  Central Park Book Now
Saturday, 11 April  A Star is Born  Warwick Book Now
Sunday, 12 April  Easter Special Screening: Wonder Park  Meerendal Book Now
Wednesday, 15 April  Out of Africa  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 16 April  Runaway Bride  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 17 April  Titanic  Battery Park Book Now
Saturday, 18 April  Me Before You Vergenoed Book Now
Wednesday, 22 April  Clueless  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Thursday, 23 April  Movie TBC  Kirstenbosch Book Now
Friday, 24 April  Mamma Mia!  Steenberg Book Now
Saturday, 25 April  Under the Tuscan Sun  Weltevreden Book Now

Address

Various Venues