Steam Train to Elgin: A Train Ride from Cape Town to the Elgin Market

Steam Train to Elgin: A Train Ride from Cape Town to the Elgin Market

Enjoy a relaxing, weekend ride through the Western Cape countryside.

Few things are more romantic and enjoyable than a steam-train ride through the countryside… And now you can hop aboard one of Ceres Rail’s family-friendly locomotives and experience the splendour firsthand.

The three-hour train ride to Elgin departs from the Royal Cape Yacht Club, near the V&A Waterfront, and travels up Sir Lowry’s Pass with a doubleheader (two locomotives). Enjoy the breathtaking scenery of mountains, endless rolling hills – and even spot a few sheep and cows along the way.

The Steampunk-style Elgin Market

Once the train pulls into the Elgin station, you will be able to disembark, and enjoy three-and-a-half hours at the newly established steampunk-themed Elgin Railway Market. With live music and a dazzling selection of clothing, accessories, ceramics and art stalls, you’ll be able to enjoy all that’s on offer while savouring tantalising street-food and refreshments.

Itinerary

Depart at 8am, return by 5.30pm.

  • 8am: Depart from opposite the Royal Yacht Club in Cape Town Harbour
  • 11.30am: Arrive at the Elgin Railway Market
  • 2.30pm: Depart from Elgin
  • 5.30pm: Arrive back in Cape Town
Tickets are available for the following dates in 2018/19
Saturday, 19 January Book now
Sunday, 20 January Book now
Saturday, 26 January Sold Out
Saturday, 2 February Book now
Saturday, 9 February Book now
Saturday, 16 February Book now
Saturday, 23 February Book now
Saturday, 2 March Book now
Saturday, 9 March Book now
Saturday, 16 March Book now
Saturday, 30 March Book now
Saturday, 6 April Book now
Saturday, 13 April Book now
Saturday, 20 April Book now
Saturday, 27 April Book now
Saturday, 4 May Book now
Saturday,11 May Book now
Saturday,18 May Book now

Address

Royal Cape Yacht Club, Duncan Road Table Bay Harbour Cape Town

Disclaimer:

The Inside Guide has made every effort to ensure that the information in this post was correct at the time of publication. However, we do not assume any liability caused by errors, such as price, cost, time, and location.

Time of publication: 14 December 2018