Steam Train to Elgin: A Train Ride from Cape Town to the Steampunk Market

Steam Train to Elgin: A Train Ride from Cape Town to the Steampunk Market

Enjoy a relaxing, weekend ride through the Western Cape countryside.

Few things are more romantic and enjoyable than a steam-train ride through the countryside… And now you can hop aboard one of Ceres Rail’s family-friendly locomotives and experience the splendour firsthand.

The three-hour train ride to Elgin departs from the Harbour Bridge Hotel in the Foreshore district, and travels up Sir Lowry’s Pass. Enjoy the breathtaking scenery of mountains, endless rolling hills – and even spot a few sheep and cows along the way.

The steampunk-style Elgin Market

Once the train pulls into the Elgin station, you will be able to disembark, and enjoy three-and-a-half hours at the newly established steampunk-themed Elgin Railway Market. With live music and a dazzling selection of clothing, accessories, ceramics and art stalls, you’ll be able to enjoy all that’s on offer while savouring tantalising street-food and refreshments.

Itinerary

Depart at 8am, return by 5.30pm.

  • 8am: Depart from Harbour Bridge Hotel, Dockrail Road, Foreshore
  • 11.30am: Arrive at the Elgin Railway Market
  • 2.15pm: Depart from Elgin
  • 5.30pm: Arrive back in Cape Town
Tickets are available for the following dates in 2020
Saturday, 28 March Unavailable
Saturday, 4 April Unavailable
Saturday, 11 April Unavailable
Saturday, 18 April Book Now
Saturday, 25 April Book Now
Saturday, 2 May Book Now
Saturday, 9 May Book Now
Saturday, 16 May Book Now
Saturday, 23 May Book Now
Saturday, 30 May Book Now

Address

Harbour Bridge Hotel, Dockrail Road Foreshore Cape Town