Steam Train to Elgin: A Train Ride from Cape Town to the Elgin Market

Steam Train to Elgin: A Train Ride from Cape Town to the Elgin Market

Enjoy a relaxing, weekend ride through the Western Cape countryside.

Few things are more romantic and enjoyable than a steam-train ride through the countryside… And now you can hop aboard one of Ceres Rail’s family-friendly locomotives and experience the splendour firsthand.

The three-hour train ride to Elgin departs from the Harbour Bridge Hotel in the Foreshore district, and travels up Sir Lowry’s Pass with a doubleheader (two locomotives). Enjoy the breathtaking scenery of mountains, endless rolling hills – and even spot a few sheep and cows along the way.

The steampunk-style Elgin Market

Once the train pulls into the Elgin station, you will be able to disembark, and enjoy three-and-a-half hours at the newly established steampunk-themed Elgin Railway Market. With live music and a dazzling selection of clothing, accessories, ceramics and art stalls, you’ll be able to enjoy all that’s on offer while savouring tantalising street-food and refreshments.

Itinerary

Depart at 8am, return by 5.30pm.

  • 8am: Depart from Harbour Bridge Hotel, Dockrail Road, Foreshore
  • 11.30am: Arrive at the Elgin Railway Market
  • 2.30pm: Depart from Elgin
  • 5.30pm: Arrive back in Cape Town
Tickets are available for the following dates in 2019
Saturday, 1 June Book Now
Saturday, 8 June Book Now
Saturday, 29 June Book Now
Saturday, 6 July Book Now
Saturday, 13 July Book Now
Saturday, 20 July Book Now
Saturday, 27 July Book Now
Saturday, 3 August Book Now
Saturday, 17 August Book Now
Saturday, 24 August Book Now
Saturday, 31 August Book Now
Saturday, 14 September Book Now
Saturday, 21 September Book Now
Saturday, 5 October Book Now
Saturday, 12 October Book Now
Saturday, 19 October Book Now
Saturday, 26 October Book Now
Saturday, 2 November Book Now
Saturday, 9 November Book Now
Saturday, 16 November Book Now
Saturday, 23 November Book Now
Saturday, 30 November Book Now
Saturday, 7 December Book Now
Saturday, 14 December Book Now
Saturday, 21 December Book Now
Saturday, 28 December Book Now

Address

Harbour Bridge Hotel, Dockrail Road Foreshore Cape Town